HOW TO: Jump Quickly to Different Project Locations


Ed. Note: My apologies for not updating more frequently – with sickness, presentations, and simply more snow than my kids know what to do with – the blog took a hit.  I have a few posts in the hopper which will post over the next week or so.  Enjoy!

Many times, when we’re working in AutoCAD (or even MS Word), we’ll have an explorer window open to that path. And when we want to open a CAD file with our super secret nested folders, sometimes it can take 15 plus clicks just to get where we want to be, presuming we didn’t click a wrong folder or 2 along the way.

Here’s a simple tip, we can either paste the path in the filename box and click enter OR we can add a PLACE to that sidebar area to the left.

First option – Cut and Paste path VIDEO
cut_paste file path

Second Option – Add New Place

click Open icon or type Open.

In the Look in list, click the drive, folder, or Internet location that contains the folder where you want to create a shortcut to in the My Places bar 

(My Places bar: The bar on the left side of certain dialog boxes (such as Open, Save As, or Insert) that contains shortcuts to the My Recent Documents, Desktop, My Documents, My Computer, and My Network Places folders.).

Click the desired folder, click Tools, and then click Add to “My Places”. Your shortcut appears in the My Places bar to the left of the folder and files list. If desired, you can drag these places to re-order them based on your preference.

This process works for AutoCAD as well as MS Word / Excel!

Enjoy…

About Kevin
Hi… I am a husband, father, brother and neighbor. I am employed as a Civil Engineer and have enjoyed playing the drums for the last 30+ years.

2 Responses to HOW TO: Jump Quickly to Different Project Locations

  1. Pingback: Data Shortcut Projects – prescription for descriptions « Land Development Engineering

  2. Pingback: 2010 in review « Land Development Engineering

Leave a Reply

