Hidden gem of the week


Just a quick post today.  I was tooling around different areas of Civil 3D that i don’t normally visit, simply to know what i don’t.  In the ribbon, the VIEW tab is some place i do spend, setting viewports, views, view styles, etc.  At the right edge of this tab is a panel for Windows. You know, window arrangment for each document and that sort of thing.

11-13-2009 8-48-41 AM

Poking around the panel, I clicked the Status Bar; which is a flyout with an interesting list.  What’s at the bottom is my gem; Tray settings. Yes, that exciting command for Tray settings….

11-13-2009 8-49-22 AM

What you get is a dialog that looks like this:

11-13-2009 8-50-18 AM

What? I can toggle these off completely? Or better yet, how about limiting the display time, like new messages in outlook.  Yeah, i like that better.  I love the messages, but i hate having to dismiss each one with a click.  You know, ’cause clicking a button is such hard work.  Makes my finger hurt.

But now at least, i’m less grumpy and feel like i can continue working and address the notification on my terms. Whether it be a XREF reload or DREF has changed and needs to snyc, it’ll be on my schedule, dang it!  🙂 So, the next time you see these messages….

11-13-2009 8-43-08 AM

You can be assured you know something needs your attention, but you don’t have to stop what you’re doing at that moment to address these annoying, but necessary, notifications. I believe i have to update our AutoCAD profile now…

Enjoy your weekend!

About Kevin
Hi… I am a husband, father, brother and neighbor. I am employed as a Civil Engineer and have enjoyed playing the drums for the last 30+ years.

Leave a Reply

