Drawing Scale – Now Up Front and Center!


I have to say that of all the new features that get added, isn’t usually the small little unnoticed feature means more to you than a gargantuan new feature set?  Case in point, AutoCAD 2008 now has annotation scaling.

OK, so what, that’s kinda cool, so what’s the big deal?

ldd-scale.pngWhen I frst starting using Civil 3D, it took me a long time to find the setting that sets your drawing scale, you know, Projects>Draing Setup – Scale tab.  I knew exactly where it was in Land Desktop and could deal with it being somewhat buried. 

For whatever reason, the fact that i had to go the settings tab on Prospector and right click the drawing name seemed infintely more painful to me.  Who knows.   What I do know is that problem has been resolved with the annotation scaling in AutoCAD 2008.

c3d-scale.pngYou’ll notice in the pic that there is now a popup list of what scale you want to set for annotation.  So, I played along and picked some wacky scale 1″=1000′(1000scl.png). Whoa.  All of my labels reacted to that setting; let me set it back to 20 scale (20scl.png). Wait, does that mean that this setting is the same as the scale in the drawing settings?

Yes, it is.  I am now pain free! NO more switching toolspace panels and right clicking…. Just a simple left clik in the drawing space does the trick! Now, if the civil object annotation worked like the autocad annotation and could adjust location based on scale…  Let’s continue to dream.  That’s ultimately what makes the tools we use better!!

About Kevin
Hi… I am a husband, father, brother and neighbor. I am employed as a Civil Engineer and have enjoyed playing the drums for the last 30+ years.

Leave a Reply

