Learning, Teaching, and being somewhere in between….


Remember when you finished 5th grade, leaving elementary school and going into middle school? 

I thought, “What else is there to learn? I know everything!  I can add, subtract, write the alphabet, write sentences and play the drums.  What else can I possibly learn over the next 6 years before I graduate?  Can I just skip them now?”

Well, that thought got blown out of the water on the first day, probably by some 8th grade bully I care not to remember….

Anyway, what does this have to with Land Development, Civil 3D and getting work done?  I’ll tell you.  As I sat in each class and lab last week at Autodesk University (AU), I was immediately taken back to that summer between 5th and 6th grade.  I don’t presume to know everything about Civil 3D, but thought I had a decent understanding.  What I found out is that other perspectives often shed new light on what may have been a dead problem.  Also, just hearing each speakers views and opinions was interesting, and often contrary to each other.  Not because they don’t understandthe material, but because of just a different take on Civil 3D from their unique situation.

So what do I take away from this? I seem to be getting a clearer picture of that old adage, “The older I get, the less I seem to know.” The moral is, keep an open mind because there are no absolutes in Land Development or Civil 3D except maybe God (if you believe in God that is).

Merry Christmas!

About Kevin
Hi… I am a husband, father, brother and neighbor. I am employed as a Civil Engineer and have enjoyed playing the drums for the last 30+ years.

Leave a Reply

